also low in proportion to the number of five-year-olds in the province.

The province has a 12-year system of public education leading to junior matriculation. The most common patterns of school organization are: elementary school (grades 1-6), junior high school (grades 7-9) and senior high school (grades 10-12); and elementary school (grades 1-6) and high school (grades 7-12). Vocational courses are taught within the framework of the secondary school system and are taken concomitantly with academic instruction.

The New Brunswick Institute of Technology in Moncton and the Saint John Institute of Technology offer post-secondary vocational and technical programs. Teachers' colleges still exist in New Brunswick although there is indication that they will soon be integrated with the university system. In addition to six hospital schools, the Saint John School of Nursing offers training leading to the RN. This province has four universities offering a variety of degree programs.

Quebec. In 1964, the Quebec government, acting on recommendations of the provincial Royal Commission on Education (1961-64), passed legislation (under Bill 60) establishing a new administrative structure for the school system in that province; the Department of Education replaced the former Departments of Youth and of Public Instruction. Today, in addition to the Minister and Deputy Minister, the structure of the Ministry includes two Associate Deputy Ministers — one for the Catholic sector and one for the non-Catholic sector. This change of system required large increases in education expenditures to finance the building of new schools and to acquire additional teaching personnel and materials. In September 1971, there were 64 regional school boards (55 Catholic and nine Protestant) with 993 affiliated local school boards.

Kindergartens admitting five-year-olds are now part of the school system and in 1972-73 over 90% of the five-year-old population was registered. Elementary education, intended for pupils aged six to 11, is given in publicly controlled schools operated under the direction of local school boards. Since the autumn of 1968, pupils are enrolled in the first grade only if they have reached the age of six by October 1. The new system calls for six years of elementary school, five years of secondary school and a collegial level to be taken in post-secondary non-university institutions. Another emerging trend is a composite course with graduated options and promotion by subject matter.

The federal Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development assumes full responsibility for the education of Eskimo children living in northern Quebec, and uses the

curriculum established by the Department of Education of Quebec.

Collèges d'enseignement général et professionnel (CEGEPs), inaugurated at the beginning of the 1967-68 school year, replaced many of the former classical colleges, normal schools, schools of nursing and technical institutes. These colleges, currently numbering about 40, admit students graduating from grade 11 and offer three-year terminal technical programs and two-year academic programs which are prerequisite for university entrance. Private or classical colleges offer the equivalent of the two-year university transfer program offered in the CEGEP, at the end of which successful students receive a diplôme d'études collégiales. Students may, however, continue at these establishments and work toward a degree granted by the university to which the college is affiliated.

There are at present four English-language CEGEPs in operation. McGill University, Sir George Williams University and Loyola College (now affiliated with Sir George Williams) also offer the equivalent two-year CEGEP program preceding the three-year university program, an interim arrangement pending the establishment of additional English-language CEGEPs. Nursing diploma (RN) programs are now carried out exclusively in the CEGEPs. Teachers' colleges still exist in Quebec but the trend is for teacher training to be given in the universities after completion of the academic program in the CEGEPs. There are several universities and colleges located in Quebec that offer a wide variety of degree, diploma and certificate programs.

Ontario. Under recent amendments to the Ontario School Act, county districts have replaced former individual units that were administered by three-member boards of trustees. The larger cities, such as Toronto and Ottawa, are excluded and operate their own school systems. Roman Catholic schools are given a choice. In most of Ontario the separate administration of elementary and secondary schools has been abolished and these schools are now administered by the same board. With each county administered by one board, there has been a drastic reduction from thousands of districts to less than 200. An important amendment to the Act in